exploring / life / Second Life / SL / Virtual photography

Be real when nothing else is

I’m not sure why some people feel the need to put their private life on public display. Maybe in the age of ‘celebrity’, it’s become a fashionable thing to do. But I’m old school, I think that what’s personal should be between you and your circle. And sometimes not even them. However, I am going to make an exception and write about something that happened to me recently, because it happened in the public eye.

A few weeks ago, I was pointed to a blog post, that claimed that my now ex had cheated on me while we were still in a relationship. Obviously, this hurt and confused me and I wanted to know if it was true. Some people asked, why even care? Since you’re no longer together with him. But the truth of it mattered to me for a number of reasons. One, I respected my relationship when I was in it and I respect the memory of it now. Two, just because it’s over, doesn’t mean it wasn’t important to me, or that I don’t still value the happy times from when I was able to be in that relationship. Three, the truth matters, and deep down I knew my ex wouldn’t do that to me because he is not that kind of person. Four, I am still friends with him and we talk often.. the claim (if it was even slightly true) would have changed the way I felt about that friendship and our whole history.

Long story short, I have been told that the blog post is now edited and the claim has been withdrawn. It’s only a small compensation for a hurtful and disrespectful action on the part of the writer, but at least the lie is gone now. I’m glad for all the reasons I mentioned, and I can move on now with my memories intact. I could wonder why some people feel the need to act in that way, but nah, I’m not going to waste any more time thinking about it.

Leave a Reply

