love / me / music / thoughts / Video / Writing

Don’t think about all those things you feel…

So I’m on the bus today travelling to college and my is head full of all I have to deal with… work deadlines, study deadlines, money issues, people grating on my nerves, the day to day grind. And then this song came on my phone. I rested my rucksack on the grab rail where I was standing and leaned on it like a pillow, head on arms. I gazed out the window, listening, and let everything else float away. I was back in time, to the first time I heard it play. It was a bad night. One of many bad nights; my younger self stricken with anxiety, helpless with grief. My RL ex… he was with me through my worst times… sent it to me when I asked him to help me. I couldn’t sleep, I never slept. I said, ‘help me’, and he gave me that song. I listened for hours on repeat. Over and over, drifting on the melody and lyrics. I felt safe, surrounded by the song in the darkness of the early hours. I felt comforted, because someone cared enough to know exactly the right thing to do in that moment. I will always think of him when I hear it and how he administered musical medicine to me that night. Some people are angels. They are stars, healers, they are living breathing gifts.

 

One thought on “Don’t think about all those things you feel…

Leave a Reply

