exploring / Second Life / SL / Virtual photography

RL rain, and Frisland

It has been pretty nice weather here in London lately, warm and sunny. But yesterday the skies opened and it rained and it thundered and it hail stoned for most of the day. Finally it quit and I took the chance to walk my dog. The sun was out again and it was amazing. I think the sun feels even better after rain, like smiles after an argument, and the air smells fresh and green. I was walking through the woods and the wet ground was steaming, fat clouds of evaporating rain water twirling in front of me, I was reaching my hands into the vapour and it was like the earth was breathing.

My pictures today are from Frisland, I haven’t been there since December 2014 when it was wintery and snowy. Spring is here now, so if you haven’t visited for a while like me, go check it out. Frisland – which I didn’t know before – (also called Frischlant, Friesland, Frislandia, or Fixland), is a phantom island that appeared on virtually all of the maps of the North Atlantic from the 1560s through the 1660s. Frisland SL is the creator’s take on that phantom Island. As always, there is lots more to see and do than I am showing in my few pictures of this lovely build. From the beach right up to the top of the rocky hills there are many places to sit, dance, hang out, explore, and enjoy.

Teleport to Frisland

Leave a Reply

