Animals / loss / RL / thoughts

A little goodbye

Today I had to euthanize one of my goldfish. I can’t remember how long I have had it, maybe 4 or 5 years. It got some kind of tumour and it was swimming all crazy when it tried to swim, mostly it was just lying on the bottom of the tank gasping and I didn’t like seeing it suffer. So I went on the RSPCA website and found out what to do. Then I found a video on youtube to demonstrate. Some people might say, ‘it was only a fish,’ but I say any living creature (especially pets that rely on us for their well being) deserves help and dignity, especially close to the end. So this method above worked well, it was a very peaceful and quick ending for the little guy. Now it’s swimming in the ether somewhere. My other pet fish is alone now, so I gave it a mirror. It hasn’t stopped looking at itself ever since and kissing itself and stuff. Funny.

And weirdly this song came on my music stream as I’m writing.

Leave a Reply

