Animals / me / nature / RL

A fox tale

I’m missing people in SL. As a result, I am finding it hard to understand where I fit in right now. Strange how fast things change. So anyway, I’m standing at The Colder Water sim, listening to the music stream and typing this little tale. This morning when I was heading out to work, I saw that I had forgotten to bring my trainers (sneakers) inside from yesterday, they were muddy and I had left them out intending to bring them in later and clean them. But I forgot and they were out all night, and when I went out this morning it looked like someone had kicked the left one away from the other, but when I looked, it had a big bite taken out of it! lol. One of the foxes that live around me had obviously had a game with it. Or maybe it was revenge from my dog chasing it the night before, lol. There are lots and lots of urban foxes in London, I see them regularly altho I rarely am fast enough with my phone to get a picture. Recently the ones near me have learned how to open the food recycling bin by knocking them over to trigger the locked handle open, so they would make a big mess, so now if we have any scraps I put them out by the fence for the fox and he leaves the other rubbish alone now. I like to compromise with him if I can. So I wasn’t mad at the fox for tearing a hole in my shoe, it was my fault for leaving it out right. It just made me laugh tbh. And it reminded me of a couple of pics I did manage to take of a fox back in the summer with my crapphone (ancient Samsung because to this day I haven’t cared enough to invest in a smartphone). So I never did anything with them until now, but since I wrote about my mutilated trainer I thought I would post them here in all their pixellated glory.

FoxI have a fondness for foxes, probably because of my fondness for the story of ‘The Little Prince’ and the fox in there. You can read that book online if you want to here. It might appear as a child’s tale but it has deeper meanings if you look.

“My life is very monotonous,” the fox said. “I hunt chickens; men hunt me. All the chickens are just alike, and all the men are just alike. And, in consequence, I am a little bored. But if you tame me, it will be as if the sun came to shine on my life. I shall know the sound of a step that will be different from all the others. Other steps send me hurrying back underneath the ground. Yours will call me, like music, out of my burrow.”

princefox

Leave a Reply

