exploring / Second Life / SL / Video / Virtual photography

To infinity and beyond

On Wednesday night I watched a film called Moon. Not a new film, but new to me, and it was very good. One of those films that makes a deep enough impression to leave me thinking about it days later. Although it would fall under the sci-fi genre, you definitely don’t have to be a fan of sci-fi to appreciate the story here. I am not going to write anything about the film itself, you can check out the link above for the outline, and if you get a chance to watch it, then do.

So I have a curiosity about space and space travel. I like watching anything to do with explaining about the universe, or just films connected to space, whether based in truth or fantasy. So after watching ‘Moon,’ I went off in SL to find something space related to tie in with my post. On that count I wasn’t disappointed either, when I visited the International Spaceflight Museum (ISM.)

I started out taking the carpet ride and listening to the guided tour of the ISM, which was very interesting, and if you are an oldbie in SL like me, a little bit nostalgic. Then I TP’d around all the points of interest, I visited the planetarium, and I went on the rocket ride, which was really cool. I did that 3 times, lol. Once the capsule docks with the platform and you are up in outer space, there is lots of stuff to check out up there too, and you can TP from planet to planet and learn about them. The image of earth below me in my picture number 5 is an actual photograph taken by the crew of Apollo 17 in December 1972 as they travelled towards the moon. Apparently they were the last humans to visit the moon, all that time ago. Aw, poor lonely moon, I’d come see you if I could.

Teleport to the International Spaceflight Museum

Oh, and here is a little bit of trance that I love! Space related of course. Awesome track… get ready to count down, and fly! :)

 

Leave a Reply

