love / me / RL

When new feels like a memory

I have loved Coldplay for over a decade. Some albums and tracks more than others… but their music is intertwined with so many of my memories over the years, good and bad, happy and sad. It’s fair to say that I’ve been through a lot in my life, and often music was the only constant in a world of turmoil, especially the early Coldplay albums, which felt like written for my life and the stuff I was dealing with then. I don’t keep photographs in RL, but I do keep songs. Songs are my photograph albums. I was truly, madly, deeply, physically, spiritually, from head to toe in love once. Just once in my life, like that. That kind of love never really dies. It lingers, sometimes at the very horizon of your memory, so that you’re barely aware of it until something happens to bring it right back to you. Chris Martin and a piano can do that to me every time. Then I’m wrapped up in the memories of him, and it wasn’t always perfect, but there were many moments when it was. It was an incredible, heart-changing, soul-growing gift, that time I had with him. And when I think about him, which I often do, he’s in every picture I’m listening to. He’s beautiful and bright and light and I know I will carry him with me for the rest of my life.

Maine pyar kiya. For you.

 

Leave a Reply

