life / loss / love / quote / RL / thoughts

The Fault in Our Stars

‘It was unbearable. The whole thing. Every second worse than the last. I just kept thinking about calling him, wondering what would happen, if anyone would answer. In the last weeks, we’d been reduced to spending our time together in recollection, but that was not nothing. The pleasure of remembering had been taken from me, because there was no longer anyone to remember with. It felt like losing your co-rememberer meant losing the memory itself, as if the things we’d done were less real and important than they had been hours before.’

– John Green, ‘The Fault in Our Stars’. 

I just finished reading this, last night. Definitely my favourite book by him.

I picked that quote because it’s very real. I’ve done that… dialled the number, listened to the dead space.

Well, I don’t want to say much more about that, this blog is not for personal stuff so much. But the book did touch me, I like it very much for the way it is unafraid, truthful, and it makes me want to live ‘more’ and appreciate my life for as long as I have it, even the small stuff. I think this book teaches that however small or insignificant you might believe your life to be, you are making a difference to the world just by being here. Even if you just influenced or changed one single other person’s life, or you loved even just one time, it matters.

Leave a Reply

