Film / RL

‘Her’

“Sometimes I think I’ve felt everything I’m gonna feel, and from here on out I’m not gonna feel anything new. Just lesser versions of everything I’ve already felt.”
– Theodore, ‘Her’

I am not much of a movie watcher. I don’t spend a great deal of time watching TV, I don’t follow celebrity gossip or reality TV. But occasionally there are films that attract my interest and this was one of them.

1798709

I found it to be a very interesting vision of the future; I can totally buy this happening at some point in the future. I think that the human story is told very well, the emotions and insecurities of the main character Theodore, that yea, probably won’t change much in people over time, although the world continues to change around us very fast. I found it interesting, and sad, that in his job as a letter writer he was able to express such depth of emotion on behalf of hundreds of strangers, but couldn’t do it on his own behalf. I recognised truth in that irony. So many of us stumble when it comes to expressing what is in our own heart, at least, to the people we should be telling it to.

A sensitive performance by Joaquin Phoenix. I’m glad I watched it, I wanted to see it since I read about it.

Leave a Reply

